Skip to main content

Festival of Brass 2023 - Results

Adjudicator:- Sam Fisher
Trainee adjudicator:- Dean Jones

 1     Ferryhill Town Band    Jonathan Fenwick
2    GT Group Band Peterlee    John Roberts
3    Billingham Silver Band    Vaughan Evans
4    Cockerton Silver Band    Andy Hunter
5    Trimdon Brass    John Bell
6    Durham Miners Associaction Band    Stuart Gray
7    Houghton Brass    Aidan Hodgson
8    Ashington Colliery Brass Band    Nigel Stedman
9    Spennymoor Town Band    Fiona Casewell
10    Dunston Silver Band    Fraser Hodgson
11    Penrith Town Band    Ian Butterworth
12    Houghton Area Youth Band    Glenis Smith
13    Backworth Colliery Band    Chris Travis
14    Craghead Colliery Band    Stephen Goddard

Best Euphonium - David Clough - Ferryhill Town Band
Best Trombones - Ferryhill Town Band
Best Bass section - GT Group Band Peterlee
Best Principal Cornet - David Gillson - Cockerton Prize Silver Band
Best Percussion - Spennymoor Town Band
Best middle of the band - Ferryhill Town Band
Best Soprano - Phillip Tait - GT Group Band Peterlee
Highest placed Youth Band - Houghton Area Youth Band
Highest placed 4th section band - Billingham Silver Band
Highest placed 3rd section band - Spennymoor Town
Highest placed 2nd section band - Ferryhill Town Band

It was lovely to see Councillor Audrey Laing the Mayor of Peterlee Town Council who came along to present some of the prizes.

Many thanks to (in no particular order)
- the staff at East Durham College
- the bands and conductors
- the adjudicator
- all volunteers
- friends from Broadnib Music who produced a recording for each competing band
- the audience for your support
- Durham Music Shop
- Durham Miners Association Band for the loan of all of the percussion

| Site Admin | News Articles